where would we be without technology? i certainly know that i depend on it every day. without my digital alarm clock, i wouldn't be able to see the time without my glasses. without my ipod, i'd have to listen to the dumb boys who commute with me every day (them to school, me to work) punch each other and laugh about it. with out my computer, well god knows what i'd do without a computer. without my phone, hmm. well, given that im not even sure what my home number is and i have over 100 numbers stored in my cell phone, i'm pretty sure that with out my phone i'd be totally isolated. yet for all the wonderful things i get from all my nifty gadgets, i could certainly do without the frustrations.
for example, this blog. up under my name in the left corner, there is a bit of html gone wrong. now, i don't know jack about html, but am lucky to know someone who was able to show me how to add links to the side bar (using html). unfortunately, that mumbo jumbo in the top corner is something i'm unable to fix. so, unless i buy a book, or make yitz fix it for me, it'll probably stay that way for quite a while.
then comes my watch. my watch has been broken for a couple months now. while i was able to get a new battery for it so that i could actually tell what time it is, the man who sold me the battery didn’t have any band that were acceptable and that would fit it. sigh. it looks like this will have to wait until thanksgiving. funny how i live in the third largest city in america, but i must go to herrin illinois to get my watch fixed (and my hair cut).
next on the list of technological woes, my ipod. now, ipods are the best invention ever. they work well, and they allow you to go through live with your own soundtrack. but, those little white bulbs don’t like sweat. i was running along in the treadmill and a drop of sweat somehow got inside one of the earphones. so, i had to run for the remainder of my run with crackling in my right ear. but, much to my delight, i figured out that ipod does indeed win. when i put my ipod on the next morning, the sweat had dried and the crackling gone.
and now for the trump card. yesterday i wanted to make a call to someone whose phone number is stored in my cell phone. my cell phone is cute, its small, and it does everything i need it to do. or so i thought. i went into my phone book and half of my contacts were gone. now, fortunately they are on my SIM card, so all is not lost. but, i remembered buying this phone before thanksgiving last year and signing a one year contract. so, i figured my contract is probably up and i should be able to get cingular to give me a new phone for free when i sign a two year contract. not so simple. but, not because they don’t do that, rather because the people who work for cingular don’t actually want to sell their service. i went to the new store on 53rd street, and the lady was like, ill give you the phone for free if you sign a two year contract and buy the insurance (which is $100 for two years). no thanks. i asked her, well, what if i just want a one year contract and no insurance. then my same phone would be $87. i paid less than $50 for it last year. and if there's one thing i know about technology it’s that the same product should not cost more one year later. so, i decide that i should just try to fix the phone i have. another cingular girl chimes in saying that since my one year is up my phone is out of warranty. not so. it's only the 6th of november. i bought this phone less than one year ago. so, apparently i can get a new one for free. but, i have to call the company.
hooray. so, i call cingular and explain the situation. but, even though it's my phone and i've been using it for four years, im not authorized to make any changes to the service. funny since i am the one who renewed the plan last year. but nope. only my dear father is authorized to make changes on this phone number. so i called my dad and told him to give me access to my phone. he is at a herrin tiger football game. i was in high school (and in the band) for four whole years. he NEVER went to a game when i was in school. am i indignant? i think so.
anyway, so it seems that after four years, cingular is not especially interested in keeping my business. they will be giving me a (free) new phone. and when my contract is up at the end of the month, they will have one last chance to make nice. or, ill take my number and my nifty new phone to verizon.
isn't technology great??