i dont really want to turn this into a political forum; there are plenty of blogs out there to do just that. but, with an issue this important, i cant really resist. REAL ID (HR 418) is a piece of legislation that is intended to dismantle our asylum system and to deny some fundamental rights to immigrants. this bill passed in the house when they attached it to an ammendment that will provide emergency funding to the troops in iraq. i spent much of last week writing a letter to our senators to oppose it. and, it looks like the first round of oppositition has worked, but not for long.
today in the senate, we got our first reprieve. the higher house of congress has decided to strike the immigration clauses from the appropriations bill and vote on it as is. of course, winning the battle does not mean we've won the war. after the appropriations bill is passed in the senate, it will go to a conference committee where the battle over who can get a driver's license and who can seek political asylum will resume. (i must say that it is ironic that these two issues, both very important to me but for drastically different reasons). and, even if REAL ID fails all together here, there are many promises to introduce it with other legislation or as a stand alone bill in the coming months.
and the really sad part of this whole thing is that congresswoman Melissa Bean from illinois voted for REAL ID because she says it's what she hears from her constituants. and Senator Obama, someone who is the son of an African, has stated that he has not decided on the bill. (well he says he doesnt like it, but it will depend on how and with what it's presented how his vote goes).
why is REAL ID so bad you may ask? The list is long. It builds a fence on our border with Mexico, much like the one the Israelis have built to keep out the Palestinians (last time I checked, the Mexicans weren't coming to America to become suicide bombers...). it make it very difficult for persons seeking political asylum to win their cases, even if they are able to establish that they meet the definition of a refugee and they present clear and credible testimony to that affect. it eliminates judicial review for certain classes of immigrants, even those contesting the conditions of indefinite detention. it gives an immigration judge license to rule on a case based on someones demeanor in court, so if you cry when you talk about being tortured, the judge can decide he doesn't believe you. it prevents undocumented immigrants from obtaining driver's licenses, so they will continue to drive, but without an ability to obtain insurance. it eliminates stays of removal for people with pending cases in federal court. the list is long and bad, but here's a good overview.
so, here's what you should do about it. call your senator and tell them you're opposed to this legislation. and when it gets bounced back to committee start calling congressmen too. i cant believe i am advocating a letter writing/phone campaign, but all joking aside, if this bill passes, we may as well take down the statue of liberty and put her in storage somewhere in kansas.